Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Rating : 5 out of 5

This book has gotten a lot of hype over the internet. When it first came out everyone was talking about it and raving. I mean all the reviews I’ve seen have been praising it. When a book is overly hyped I tend to hold off for a little for some reason or another. This week though I just felt like picking up Daisy Jones & The Six and giving it a go. I was not prepared for the emotions that this book was going to put me through. It was totally the right time to pick it up and I’m so glad I did. I loved it so much that I’m seriously considering it as my all time favorite read of 2019 so far. Now I don’t say that lightly, when a book hooks me I’m all in.

Now I listened to the audiobook while reading the physical book and oh my god, listen to the audiobook. I listen to a lot of audiobooks and there are not many that I rave about and tell everyone to listen to. Really the only other audiobook I really love is the Illuminae Files. And that’s because it is truly a full experience. Daisy Jones & The Six audiobook has a full cast and it is amazing. Typically when there are so many people, I can feel lost but that is not the case with this one. Each narrator was truly amazing and really fit the characters in my opinion. If you love audiobooks, I highly suggest this be your next one.

On to the actual story. This story is laid out like a documentary, the way it is written instantly made me feel like this could easily be adapted into a movie. Which I don’t say this often, but I would love to see this adapted for the big screen, with the right team it could really be amazing. I was only part way through when I knew that this was going to be a 5 star read for me. Daisy Jones is such an interesting character and has so many levels to her. I really felt for her at times and really questioned her motives at times. She felt like such a real person that I cared for her by the end. When it comes to The Six I liked how different they all are, you have Billy and Graham who started it all. Then you have Karen, Pete, Eddie, and Warren. I particularly really loved Karen. Karen as a character was really one that felt full and I really connected with her. She’s a woman in a man’s file and she fought for her place. She also felt really secure in herself. Besides the characters and how full and different each felt, I really loved the setting. I felt like I was in the room while they are each telling their side if the same story. Thats another thing that I loved, you know as the reader that this group of people experienced a moment in time with each other, but even though they shared these experiences, they each saw it differently. Now watch out for the twist, it’s a good one and just added a whole new level to the story. It’s the twist that made me want to reread the whole entire thing again. 

Daisy Jones & The Six is one that will be in my collection for a long time, I just know it. I think everyone should read this and that loads of different readers would enjoy it. I also know that this is one that is gonna stick with me for a while.

7 thoughts on “Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

  1. Pingback: April – June Wrap Up 2019

  2. Pingback: Mid Year Freak Out Tag

Leave a comment